Our political science majors have the unique ability to “capitalize on the capitals.” We offer opportunities to study and experience American politics, political theory, public law, international politics, and public policy inside and outside the classroom. We have strong relationships with Albany’s political agencies and offices and with programs based in Washington, D.C. and London. You’ll also get plenty of hands-on experience in internships, the Model UN program, and moot court/mock trial clubs.

Saints will choose one of four tracks to pursue: general political science, American politics and justice, international relations, or public policy and administration. Through a selection of elective courses, you'll be able to dive into a specialized curriculum that suits your interests. 

Our graduates pursue graduate programs at Berkeley, the University of Michigan, the University of Texas, Rockefeller College and Syracuse University, as well as law schools including, William and Mary, Boston University, Boston College, American University, Fordham and Albany Law. In short, our Saints succeed!

Location, Location, Location

Siena is 15 minutes from the New York State’s capital, Albany. The proximity to the capital allows Siena students to have direct access to opportunities within state government and other political agencies through well-established internships, jobs, or advocacy.

Ryan Kelleher '18

"The most meaningful experience that I have had at Siena thus far was when I was able to represent the Political Science department at the Student Conference on US Affairs at the United States Military Academy at West Point. During this conference, I was able to hear from speakers such as Madeline Albright, the first female secretary of state."

A Step Ahead

Our Saints aren't just learning in the classroom, they are out exploring the world around them. Whether it be working on campaign trails, interning at City Hall or completing our Pre-Law certificate, our students have got their sights set on their futures. 

Daniel Lewis

Department Chair, Associate Professor of Political Science