Diversity Action Committee is a committee composed of faculty and students of Siena College, working together to increase knowledge of diversity and to effect positive change within the Siena community concerning issues related to gender, race, ethnicity, class, age, sexual orientation, gender expression, and disability on campus. Its purpose is to provide information and new perspectives on these issues; to improve personal and working relationships among our community, notably raising awareness of and acting in prevention against sexism, racism, ageism, classism, heterosexism, ableism and other forms of categorical prejudice and discrimination in support of the College’s Human Rights policy; and to deepen knowledge and appreciation of diversity through integrated courses and focused programs.

Inclusive Classroom (Statement)

In our Franciscan community, diversity is an invitation to celebrate the uniqueness of each individual, as well as the cultural differences that enrich us all. In this course, I will do my best to ensure that students from all backgrounds and perspectives will be served equitably. The diversity that students bring to this class will be viewed as a resource, strength and benefit. It is my intent to present materials and activities that are respectful and inclusive of the many identities of students in terms of gender, sexual orientation, disability, age, socioeconomic status, ethnicity, race, culture, perspective, and other background characteristics. Your suggestions about how to improve the value of diversity and inclusiveness in this course are encouraged and appreciated.


DAC Members 2018-2019

Faculty Reps: 
Todd Snyder, Co-Chair (English)
Holly Grieco, Immediate past President (Religious Education)
Jesse Moya,  past President (Education)
Rong Fu, Faculty Representative (Sociology)
Thomas Giarla, Faculty Representative (Biology)
Daniel Lewis, Faculty Representative (Political Science)
Anthony Manela, Faculty Representative (Philosophy)
William Figueroa, Academic Community Engagement
Chingyen Mayer, Director of International Studies (English)
Laurie Naranch, Director of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies (Political Science)
Lisa Nevárez, Director of Multicultural Studies (English)

Student Representatives
Zachary Coderre, Zariyah Fowler, Ivory Moore, Andraya Pérez

DAC Calendar