Computer Science, Academics, School of Science

It was the largest field ever at Siena’s 32nd annual High School Computer Programming Contest.

The College welcomed 240 high school students on 60 teams from 15 high schools throughout the Capital Region and Hudson Valley. The contest, sponsored by Transfinder and its founder and CEO Antonio Civitella ‘91, was held in Roger Bacon Hall on March 29. 

More than 50 Siena computer science students and 12 Siena faculty members volunteered, as well as 20 of the high school teachers who accompanied their students. 

Green Level Winners

1st Place

Briarcliff A

Advisor – Mr. John Fasano

Daniel Deng

Benjamin Harris

Joshua Kupka

Andrew Van Camp

2nd Place

Shenendehowa D

Advisor – Mr. Chris Hanley

Aryadeepta De

Riane Richard

Jake Ryan

3rd Place

Bethlehem E

Advisor – Ms. Rachel Linehan

Stephanie Close

Tristan Coletto

Justin Dong

Abigail DeFranco

Gold Level Winners

1st Place

Shaker A

Advisor – Ms. Carm Avellino

Ansel Asch

Robert Kang

2nd Place

Niskayuna A

Advisor - Mr. Dan Matoon

Jeffrey Huang

Zhang Rowechen

Ramanujam Shreyas 

Ian Vernooy  

3rd Place

Bethlehem A

Advisor - Ms. Rachel Linehan

Govind Chari  

William Convertino

Regan Murphy

Andres Sevilla

The following high schools sent teams to the competition:



Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake



Franklin Delano Roosevelt (Hyde Park)


Mohonasen (Rotterdam)


Saratoga Springs

Shaker (Latham)



Tech Valley High School (Rensselaer)

Windham Ashland Jewett