Faculty

 

Faculty members of the Department of Modern Languages and Classics

 

Department Chair:

 

Michael Sham, Ph.D. SUNY Buffalo, Professor of Modern Languages and Classics (Classics)
Classical Mythology; Epic Poetry; Greek Tragedy; the Greco-Roman Novel
Office: Kiernan Hall 205
Phone: (518)783-4284
Email: sham@siena.edu

 

Faculty:

Lisette Balabarca, Ph.D. Boston University, Assistant Professor of Modern Languages and Classics (Spanish)
Aljamiado & Moorish Literature;16th and 17th Century Travel Literature; The Picaresque Novel.
Office: Kiernan Hall 217
Phone: (518)782-6913
Email: lbalabarca@siena.edu
 

Paola Bonissone, Ph.D. University at Albany, Lecturer in Modern Languages and Classics (Italian)
Language Curriculum & Instruction; Biliteracy; Classroom Discourse
Office: Kiernan Hall 223
Phone: (518)783-6901
Email: pbonissone@siena.edu

 

Nathalie Degroult, Ph.D. University at Albany, Associate Professor of Modern Languages and Classics (French)
Contemporary French and Francophone Literature, film and culture
Office: Kiernan Hall 207
Phone: (518)783-4256
Email: ndegroult@siena.edu
 

Marcela Garcés, Ph.D. University of Minnesota, Assistant Professor of Modern Languages and Classics (Spanish)
Spanish Peninsular Cultural Studies; Hispanic Film; La Movida Madrileña
Office: Kiernan Hall 217
Phone: (518)783-4279
Email: mgarces@siena.edu

 

Undine Giguere, Ph.D. University at Albany, Lecturer in Modern Languages and Classics (German)
German Film in the 20th and 21st Century; 20th Century German Literature; Bilingualism and Linguistics
Office: Kiernan Hall 204
Email: ugiguere@siena.edu

 

Nicola Kfouri-Sultan, Ph.D. University at Albany, Lecturer in Modern Languages and Classics (Arabic)
Arabic Literature and Cultures; French Literature
Office: Siena Hall 311
Email: nkfouri-sultan@siena.edu

 

Carrie Kuehl, D.A. University at Albany, Lecturer in Modern Languages and Classics (Spanish and French)
Francophone Cultures; Quebec Society; Contemporary Quebec Song-writers
Office: Siena Hall 222
Phone: (518)786-5028
Email: ckuehl@siena.edu
 

Carolyn Malloy-Madrid, Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison, Professor of Modern Languages and Classics (Spanish)
Latin American Novel and Theater; Women's Studies
Office: Kiernan Hall 208
Phone: (518)783-2942
Email: malloy@siena.edu

 

Patricia Marshall, Ph.D., Lecturer in Modern Languages and Classics (Classics)
Greek Comedy; Greek Epic; Latin Elegy; Modern American Poetry [esp Elizabeth Bishop]
Office: Siena Hall 311
Phone: (518)783-2325
Email: pmarshall@siena.edu

 

Louis Martínez, Ph.D. University at Albany, Lecturer in Modern Languages and Classics (Spanish)
Peninsular and Latin American theater and poetry
Email: lmartinez@siena.edu

 

Dora Ramírez, Ph.D. University at Albany, Lecturer in Modern Languages and Classics (Spanish)
Spanish Dialectology; Spanish for Heritage Speakers; Bilingualism
Office: Kiernan Hall 213
Phone: (518)782-6913
Email: dramirez@siena.edu

 

Rick Reis, M.A., C.A.S. University of Arizona, Lecturer in Modern Languages and Classics (Russian)
Russian Interpreting; Translation in Medical and Legal Fields
Office: Kiernan Hall 204
Phone: (518)783-2325
Email: reis@siena.edu

  

Janet Shideler, Ph.D. University of Massachusetts-Amherst, Dean of School of Liberal Arts Professor of Modern Languages and Classics (French)
Francophonie: the study of the culture, history and literature of French-speaking people outside of France
Office: Siena Hall 321
Phone: (518)783-2320
Email: jshideler@siena.edu

Robert Streifer, M.A. University at Albany, Lecturer in Modern Languages and Classics (Spanish)
Study Abroad; 20th Century Literature; Hispanic World Culture; Music
Office: Kiernan Hall 311
Phone: (518)526-5008
Email: rstreifer@siena.edu

 

Lydia Tarnavsky, Ph.D. University of Michigan, Professor of Modern Languages and Classics (German)
Language Methodology; Ukrainian Themes in German Literature
Office: Kiernan Hall 204
Phone: (518)786-5068
Email: tarnavsky@siena.edu